Super Bowl LVI: What Time Does It Start And End?

Written By Matt Burke on April 26, 2022
What time does the Super Bowl start end

The longest season in NFL history will soon culminate in the form of Super Bowl LVI. Left battling for the right to raise this year’s Lombardi Trophy are the LA Rams and Cincinnati Bengals. One of the biggest queries during this time on the sports calendar is what time does the Super Bowl start and end? Below we will provide answers to those questions and also dish out betting information on football’s biggest game.

Claim Caesars Sportsbook Bonus Free Bet up to $1,250! Promo Code: LEGALCZR

Legally bet on the Super Bowl, get free bonus $$$

It is now legal to bet on the Super Bowl in many states. Legal sportsbooks are giving new users hundreds of dollars, sometimes even thousands of dollars, worth of bonus cash. To claim that free money now, click on one of the offers below.

Claim Your $1,050 Bonus at DraftKings Sportsbook

What time does the Super Bowl start this year?

If you are planning a party for the Big Game you will surely want to know what time does the Super Bowl start and end? Here we will answer that question. As for what day is pro football’s biggest game, you will want to clear the calendar for Sunday, February 13.

The Super Bowl will start at 6:30 p.m. Eastern Standard Time. Kickoff is sometimes a minute or two after that start time due to the pre-game festivities. But you will want to be in your seat by the bottom of the hour. Here are times that the Super Bowl will begin by time zone for US states.

  • Super Bowl start time Eastern: 6:30 p.m. ET
  • Big Game start time Central: 5:30 p.m. CT
  • Super Bowl start time Mountain: 4:30 p.m. MT
  • Big Game start time Pacific: 3:30 p.m. PT

The Super Bowl this year takes place at SoFi Stadium in Inglewood, California. So there will be sun light, at least outside of the stadium, at kickoff. SoFi Stadium does have a roof but the sides of the building are open.

What time does Super Bowl LVI end?

The downside to parties, of course, is that they end. So, what time does the Super Bowl end? It will be time to put away the Doritos and Bud Light around 9:50 p.m. ET. Most NFL games last around 3 hours and 10 minutes long but the Big Game has a longer than usual halftime show. That will mean that the Super Bowl will finish closer to 10 p.m. on the East Coast. Here are the end times by time zone. Remember these are approximate times, as obviously an overtime game would push the time of the final whistle well past 10 p.m. ET.

  • Super Bowl LVI end time Eastern: 9:50 p.m. ET
  • Big Game end time Central: 8:50 p.m. ET
  • Super Bowl LVI end time Mountain: 7:50 p.m. ET
  • Big Game end time Pacific: 6:50 p.m. ET

Betting on the Super Bowl

If you are betting on the Super Bowl between the Cincinnati Bengals and LA Rams, check out the latest game lines below.

Matt Burke Avatar
Written by
Matt Burke

Matt Burke is the Sports Editor and Head of Evergreen/SEO Content at TheLines.com. He is the Founder and former Editor-in-Chief of MetroBet, a digital and print sports betting platform, and was the Executive Sports Editor at Metro US Newspapers (New York, Philadelphia, Boston) from 2014-2020. Matt has covered Super Bowls and Final Fours, and his work has appeared for Sports Illustrated, CBS Sports, the Eagle Tribune, Gloucester Daily Times and Newburyport Daily News. Matt is a graduate of the University of Connecticut.

View all posts by Matt Burke