Preakness Stakes 2022: What Time Does It Start And End?

Written By Matt Burke on May 20, 2022
what time does the Preakness Stakes start

One of the most acclaimed sporting events of the spring is the annual Preakness Stakes. The Preakness is the second leg of horse racing’s Triple Crown. One of the big questions this time of year is what time does the Preakness Stakes start and end? Below we will provide answers to those questions and also deliver betting information on one of this major horse race.

Free Pick’Em Contests! Compete for prizes every day by entering our free betting games. NBA, MLB, golf and more!

Legally bet on the Preakness, get free bonus $$$

It is perfectly legal to bet on the Preakness Stakes in 33 states. TVG will also give new users a welcome bonus of $200. To claim that TVG free bonus money now, click on the TVG banner below.

Get Up to $200 Back If Your First Bet Loses

What time does the Preakness Stakes start this year?

If you are planning on having a party for this year’s horse race you will definitely want to know what time does the Preakness Stakes start and end? Below we will answer that question. We already know that the “Run for the Black Eyed Susans” will take place on Saturday, May 21.

The Preakness Stakes will start at 6:47 p.m. ET. This start time is approximate, of course, as there are plenty of pre-race activities that can bump the beginning of the race back a little. Here are the Preakness start times for each time zone.

  • Eastern Time Zone: 6:47 p.m.
  • Central Time Zone: 5:47 p.m.
  • Mountain Time Zone: 4:47 p.m.
  • Pacific Time Zone: 3:47 p.m.

Then there is the matter of what time does the Preakness Stakes end? You can expect the race to last just below two minutes long. Rombauer, who won last year’s big race at Pimlico, finished with a time of 1 minute and 53 seconds. So expect the Preakness Stakes to end around 6:50 p.m. ET.

Betting on the Preakness

Odds for the 2022 Preakness Stakes have been posted at TVG. Below are morning line odds as well as trainer and jockey information. Click to wager now.

Post HorseMorning Line oddsJockey Trainer
1. Simplification6-1John VelazquezAntonio Sano
2.Creative Minister10-1Brian Hernandez Jr.Kenny McPeek
3.Fenwick50-1Florent GerouxKevin McKathan
4.Secret Oath9-2Luiz SaezD. Wayne Lukas
5.Early Voting7-2Jose OrtizChad Brown
6.Happy Jack30-1Tyler GaffalioneDoug O'Neill
7.Armagnac12-1Irad Ortiz Jr.Tim Yakteen
8.Epicenter6-5Joel RosarioSteve Asmussen
9.Skippylongstocking20-1Junior AlvaradoSaffie Joseph
Matt Burke Avatar
Written by
Matt Burke

Matt Burke is the Sports Editor and Head of Evergreen/SEO Content at He is the Founder and former Editor-in-Chief of MetroBet, a digital and print sports betting platform, and was the Executive Sports Editor at Metro US Newspapers (New York, Philadelphia, Boston) from 2014-2020. Matt has covered Super Bowls and Final Fours, and his work has appeared for Sports Illustrated, CBS Sports, the Eagle Tribune, Gloucester Daily Times and Newburyport Daily News. Matt is a graduate of the University of Connecticut.

View all posts by Matt Burke