Super Bowl 58 MVP Betting: Odds By Position

, ,
Written By Mo Nuwwarah | Last Updated
Super Bowl MVP betting

Super Bowl MVP odds will attract a ton of bets in the two weeks leading up to the showdown between the 49ers and Chiefs. A parallel, less popular market in Super MVP betting is also available: Super Bowl MVP odds by positional group. So, if a bettor can’t decide between Patrick Mahomes and Brock Purdy but likes both players’ chances in the event of a win, they could theoretically just bet that a quarterback will win.

Let’s take a look at these Super Bowl MVP betting markets, with both FanDuel Sportsbook and BetMGM offering odds. Each of the two NFL betting apps has grouped the positions slightly differently.

Super Bowl MVP Odds For Each Position

Running back/fullback
Wide Receiver
Defensive Player
Tight End
Defensive Lineman
Offensive Lineman
Last Updated on 01.30.2024

As one can see, FanDuel has opted to group all of the defenders into one option. That may help them avoid confusion on players who have blurry positional lines.

Interestingly, grouping all of the defensive options at BetMGM into a Dutching calculator spits out a cumulative price of +768. Therefore, bettors interested in a defensive player winning but unsure which specific players to back should simply consider betting the FanDuel price of +1100.

On the flip side, if you have a good feeling about one particular player or two, the BetMGM options return the bigger payout.

Quarterbacks have the most wins with 32, followed by receiver (8), running back (7), linebacker (4), defensive end (2), safety (2), cornerback (1), defensive tackle (1) and kick returner (1).

Which Players Are Live To Cash Positional Group Bets?

Let’s briefly run through some scenarios where Super Bowl MVP positional betting could cash.

Remember that splash plays are king. We’re looking for guys who can make one or two big ones that hugely impact the game, a la Nick Bolton wrapping up Jalen Hurts and then returning the fumble for a touchdown.

In the cases of the QBs and RBs, the options are pretty limited and clear. Patrick Mahomes, Brock Purdy, Isiah Pacheco and Christian McCaffrey will get basically every touch, barring injury. Tight end is much the same, with both teams boasting clear stars.

Betting the wide receiver markets doesn’t excite me much. In the Chiefs’ cases, it’s hard to see a way that a receiver excels such that they win MVP without it going to Mahomes. On the 49ers’ end, downfield receivers like Brandon Aiyuk have had extreme difficulty beating this K.C. secondary. Therefore, I’d look only Deebo Samuel’s way () and skip over the positional market.

Therefore, I’m thinking about defenders. I love offensive line play as much as the next football nerd, but that isn’t happening. And unless the Chiefs win 19-17 behind four long Harrison Butker boots, no kicker will win.

The 49ers don’t blitz their linebackers hardly at all, while the Chiefs do so frequently. That probably helps the San Francisco end of things since Mahomes is outstanding at avoiding sacks. On the other hand, he hasn’t thrown an interception over his past six playoff games.

I could absolutely see someone on the Chiefs making a game-turning play, though. They rode the defense in a major way to the win over Baltimore, and Brock Purdy has been known to throw the ball into harm’s way. A member of the secondary makes the most sense here, as the Chiefs don’t figure to win a ton up front, particularly with how heavily the 49ers lean on quicker-timing routes.

Past Super Bowl MVP Winners By Position

2023Patrick Mahomes (QB)Kansas City Chiefs
2022Cooper Kupp (WR)LA Rams
2021Tom Brady (QB)Tampa Bay Buccaneers
2020Patrick Mahomes (QB)Kansas City Chiefs
2019Julian Edelman (WR)New England Patriots
2018Nick Foles (QB)Philadelphia Eagles
2017Tom Brady (QB)New England Patriots
2016Von Miller (LB)Denver Broncos
2015Tom Brady (QB)New England Patriots
2014Malcolm Smith (LB)Seattle Seahawks
2013Joe Flacco (QB)Baltimore Ravens
2012Eli Manning (QB)New York Giants
2011Aaron Rodgers (QB)Green Bay Packers
2010Drew Brees (QB) New Orleans Saints
2009Santonio Holmes (WR) Pittsburgh Steelers
2008Eli Manning (QB)New York Giants
2007Peyton Manning (QB)Indianapolis Colts
2006Hines Ward (WR) Pittsburgh Steelers
2005Deion Branch (WR) New England Patriots
2004Tom Brady (QB) New England Patriots
2003Dexter Jackson (S) Tampa Bay Bucs
2002Tom Brady (QB) New England Patriots
2001Ray Lewis (LB) Baltimore Ravens
2000Kurt Warner (QB) St. Louis Rams
1999John Elway (QB) Denver Broncos
1998Terrell Davis (RB) Denver Broncos
1997Desmond Howard (WR/KR) Green Bay Packers
1996Larry Brown (CB) Dallas Cowboys
1995Steve Young (QB) San Francisco 49ers
1994Emmitt Smith (RB) Dallas Cowboys
1993Troy Aikman (QB) Dallas Cowboys
1992Mark Rypien (QB) Washington Redskins
1991Ottis Anderson (RB) New York Giants
1990Joe Montana (QB) San Francisco 49ers
1989Jerry Rice (WR) San Francisco 49ers
1988Doug Williams (QB) Washington Redskins
1987Phil Simms (QB) New York Giants
1986Richard Dent (DE) Chicago Bears
1985Joe Montana (QB) San Francisco 49ers
1984Marcus Allen (RB) Los Angeles Raiders
1983John Riggins (RB) Washington Redskins
1982Joe Montana (QB) San Francisco 49ers
1981Jim Plunkett (QB) Oakland Raiders
1980Terry Bradshaw (QB) Pittsburgh Steelers
1979Terry Bradshaw (QB) Pittsburgh Steelers
1978H, Martin (DE), R. White (DT) Dallas Cowboys
1977Fred Biletnikoff (WR) Oakland Raiders
1976Lynn Swann (WR) Pittsburgh Steelers
1975Franco Harris (RB) Pittsburgh Steelers
1974Larry Csonka (RB) Miami Dolphins
1973Jake Scott (S) Miami Dolphins
1972Roger Staubach (QB) Dallas Cowboys
1971Chuck Howley (LB) Dallas Cowboys
1970Len Dawson (QB) Kansas City Chiefs
1969Joe Namath (QB) New York Jets
1968Bart Starr (QB) Green Bay Packers
1967Bart Starr (QB) Green Bay Packers


See below for the best sportsbook promo codes at the best sports betting sites in your area.

UP TO $1,000
In Bonus Bets
First Bet Safety Net up to $1,000, or Bet $5, Get $150 in Bonus Bets
Sign Up, Deposit and Play Today in VA!
Gambling Problem? Call or TEXT 1-800-Gambler 21+
Use Bonus Code: THELINESVA
up to $1,500
In Bonus Bets
Up to $1,500 in Bonus Bets if Your First Bet Doesn’t Win*
*Bonus Bets Expire in 7 Days. One New Customer Offer Only. Add’l terms
21+. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER
Use Bonus Code: THELINES
$1,000 FIRST BET
On Caesars
Up to $1,000 Back as a Bonus Bet if Your Bet Loses
Stream NFL Games In-App for Free
21+ Gambling problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER
Use Promo Code: THELINES1000
Bet $5
Get $200
If Your Bet Wins
Bet $5 Get $200 in Bonus Bets if Your Bet Wins
PLUS a Daily Boost or Bonus All Summer
Available on Desktop, Android & iOS
To Claim: Click Play Now
Up to $100
Bonus Bet
Up to $100 Back if Your First Bet Doesn’t Win
Get Your Bets Boosted
To Claim: Click Play Now
$500 BONUS
2nd Chance Bet
Up To $500 in Bet Credits
ONLY 1x Play Through!
Use Exclusive Bonus Code: LINESRIV

Pages Related TO This Topic

Latest Super Bowl News