Super Bowl Coin Toss Odds: Betting Guide On The Big Game Flip

, ,
Written By Matt Burke on May 25, 2023
Super Bowl coin odds toss flip

Heads or tails? Betting on those results may seem like the ultimate in a 50-50 proposition, but millions of dollars will be wagered on the outcome when the Philadelphia Eagles and Kansas City Chiefs gather in the center of the field in Glendale, Arizona on February 12 for the Super Bowl coin toss. Ready to completely over analyze Super Bowl coin odds? We thought so.

Below you will find the result of every Super Bowl coin flip since Super Bowl I, plus current coin toss odds and trends to help you decide on heads or tails.

Was the coin toss heads or tails?

Update: The coin toss prior to the kickoff of Super Bowl 57 landed on Tails. The Chiefs correctly called Tails.

Super Bowl Coin Odds

The finalists for Super Bowl 57 have been decided as the Philadelphia Eagles will take on the Kansas City Chiefs. Super Bowl coin odds have been made available at select sportsbooks including FanDuel Sportsbook, which not surprisingly had both heads and tails at -104. Click on any of the odds below to bet now.

Sports betting sites will once again be offering other coin toss prop bets for Super Bowl LVII including Coin Toss Team winner, Player to Correctly Call Opening Coin Toss, and To Win Coin Flip and the Game odds. Coin flip lines below are available to bet on now.

Coin Toss Props
Coin Toss WinnerKansas City Chiefs -104Philadelphia Eagles -104
Player to correctly call Opening Kickoff coin tossYes -104No -104
To Win Coin Toss and GameChiefs +310Eagles +260

More Big Game content

TheLines has you covered with all of your Super Bowl betting needs this week.

Super Bowl Coin Toss Results

Heads: 27 times (48%)
Tails: 29 times (52%)
Heads longest streak: 5
Tails longest streak: 4 (three times)
Most coin toss wins: Cowboys (6); 49ers (5); Dolphins (4); Raiders (3); Patriots (3); Seahawks (3)

The Bengals won the coin toss last year via Heads after the LA Rams had called Tails. Cincinnati lost the game, ruining the bet of those who wagered on Cincy to win the toss and the game itself.

Heads has now been the coin toss winner in back-to-back years as well as four out of the last five Super Bowls. This comes on the heels of tails going on a four-year winning streak in the mid-2010s.

Out of the 56 Super Bowls played thus far, just 25 teams have won the coin flip and the game. In fact, there is sizable streak currently going on as each team to win the coin toss the past eight years has wound up losing. The last team to win the toss and hoist the Lombardi Trophy at the end of the night was the 2013-14 Seattle Seahawks against the Denver Broncos.

Super Bowl TeamsHeads or TailsToss WinnerSuper Bowl Champion
LVILA Rams vs. CincinnatiHeadsBengalsRams
LVKansas City vs Tampa BayHeadsKansas CityTampa Bay
LIVKansas City vs San FranciscoTailsSan FranciscoKansas City
LIIINew England vs LA RamsHeadsLA RamsNew England
LIINew England vs PhiladelphiaHeadsNew EnglandPhiladelphia
LIAtlanta vs New England TailsAtlantaNew England
LCarolina vs DenverTailsCarolinaDenver
XLIXSeattle vs New England TailsSeattleNew England
XLVIIISeattle vs DenverTailsSeattleSeattle
XLVIIBaltimore vs San FranciscoHeadsBaltimoreBaltimore
XLVINew England vs NY GiantsHeadsNew EnglandNY Giants
XLVGreen Bay vs PittsburghHeadsGreen BayGreen Bay
XLIVNew Orleans vs IndianapolisHeadsNew OrleansNew Orleans
XLIIIArizona vs PittsburghHeadsArizonaPittsburgh
XLIINY Giants vs New EnglandTailsNY GiantsNY Giants
XLIChicago vs IndianapolisHeadsChicagoIndianapolis
XLSeattle vs PittsburghTailsSeattlePittsburgh
XXXIXPhiladelphia vs New EnglandTailsPhiladelphiaNew England
XXXVIIICarolina vs New EnglandTailsCarolinaNew England
XXXVIITampa Bay vs OaklandTailsTampa BayTampa Bay
XXXVISt Louis vs New EnglandHeadsSt LouisNew England
XXXVNY Giants vs BaltimoreTailsNY GiantsBaltimore
XXXIVSt Louis vs TennesseeTailsSt LouisSt Louis
XXXIIIAtlanta vs DenverTailsAtlantaDenver
XXXIIGreen Bay vs DenverTailsGreen BayDenver
XXXINew England vs Green BayHeadsNew EnglandGreen Bay
XXXDallas vs PittsburghTailsDallasDallas
XXIXSan Francisco vs San DiegoHeadsSan FranciscoSan Francisco
XXVIIIDallas vs BuffaloTailsDallasDallas
XXVIIBuffalo vs DallasHeadsBuffaloDallas
XXVIWashington vs BuffaloHeadsWashingtonWashington
XXVBuffalo vs NY GiantsHeadsBuffaloNY Giants
XXIVDenver vs San FranciscoHeadsDenverSan Francisco
XXIIISan Francisco vs CincinnatiTailsSan FranciscoSan Francisco
XXIIWashington vs DenverHeadsWashingtonWashington
XXIDenver vs NY GiantsTailsDenverNY Giants
XXChicago vs New EnglandTailsChicagoChicago
XIXSan Francisco vs MiamiTailsSan FranciscoSan Francisco
XVIIILA Raiders vs WashingtonHeadsLA RaidersLA Raiders
XVIIMiami vs WashingtonTailsMiamiWashington
XVISan Francisco vs CincinnatiTails San FranciscoSan Francisco
XVPhiladelphia vs OaklandTailsPhiladelphiaOakland
XIVLA Rams vs PittsburghHeadsLA RamsPittsburgh
XIIIDallas vs PittsburghHeadsDallasPittsburgh
XIIDallas vs DenverHeadsDallasDallas
XIOakland vs MinnesotaTailsOaklandOakland
XDallas vs PittsburghHeadsDallasPittsburgh
IXPittsburgh vs Minnesota TailsPittsburghPittsburgh
VIIIMiami vs MinnesotaHeadsMiamiMiami
VIIMiami vs WashingtonHeadsMiamiMiami
VIMiami vs DallasHeadsMiamiDallas
VDallas vs BaltimoreTailsDallasBaltimore
IVMinnesota vs Kansas CityTailsMinnesotaKansas City
IIINY Jets vs BaltimoreHeadsNY JetsNY Jets
IIGreen Bay vs Oakland TailsOaklandGreen Bay
IGreen Bay vs Kansas CityHeads Green BayGreen Bay

Which team calls the coin toss in the Super Bowl?

Here we will look at which team calls the coin toss in the Super Bowl this year. Is it the “home team” or the “away team?” The NFL rotates the home and visiting team each year in the Super Bowl regardless of venue. This year’s Super Bowl will be played in Glendale, Arizona – which is home to the Arizona Cardinals.

Who is the home team in Super Bowl LVII – Eagles or Chiefs?

The visiting team calls the coin toss in the Super Bowl. The NFC is the home team this year after being the visiting team last year. So the Kansas City Chiefs captains will be calling out heads or tails in the Super Bowl LVII coin toss. The Chiefs captains are:

  • Patrick Mahomes
  • Travis Kelce
  • Jerick McKinnon
  • Nick Bolton
  • Chris Jones
  • Tommy Townsend