Sun Bowl Odds

College Football Bowl Season


The Tony The Tiger Sun Bowl is scheduled to kick off on Dec. 30 at 2:00 p.m. ET during the 2022-23 College Football Bowl Season. The game has been held at Sun Bowl Stadium in El Paso for nearly 90 years, making it the second-oldest bowl game behind the Rose Bowl. It’s one of 12 bowl stadiums to be the primary home of an FBS team, in this case UTEP. The No. 18 UCLA Bruins (9-3) play the Pittsburgh Panthers (8-4). Below, we’ll look at Sun Bowl odds and bowl history.

Sun Bowl odds: UCLA Vs. Pitt

To place a bet on the Sun Bowl, click on the odds in the table below. Toggle between spread, moneyline, total, or a blended view using the dropdown menu. Compare College Bowl Game Odds for every contest here.

UCLA is a favorite over Pitt in the Sun Bowl. In response to key Pitt opt outs, UCLA saw the line move three full points in their favor so far, with more movement possible. The over/under for this game is set at points.

Kedon Slovis re-entered the transfer portal and won’t play in this game. His backups– Nick Patti and Nate Yarnell– have 32 passing attempts this season with two combined touchdowns. All American defensive tackle Calijah Kancey opted out of the game after declaring for the NFL Draft along with three other starters. All American running back Israel “Izzy” Abanikanda– who led nation in rushing touchdowns this season– will also not play.

Dorian Thompson-Robinson will be playing his last game for UCLA. He led the Bruins to the sixth-most successful passing attack on the year and, alongside Zach Charbonnet (who will not play this game), the second-most successful rushing attack.

Pitt is one of the most ravaged teams in terms of opt outs. Most of their unit will come down to replacements against a full-strength UCLA team.

Notable Opt Outs

Pitt: QB Kedon Slovis, DL Calijah Kancey, RB Israel Abanikanda, SAF Brandon Hill, LB SirVocea Dennis, EDGE Deslin Alexandre, OT Gabe Houy

UCLA: RB Zach Charbonnet, WR Kazmeir Allen

Sun Bowl betting

Central Michigan filled in for Miami (FL) in last year’s Sun Bowl after their own game, the Arizona Bowl, was cancelled. Lew Nichols and crew shocked Washington State 24-21 as even-point underdogs thanks to a big first half by the Chips. Nichols– the nation’s leading rusher– picked up 138 yards on the ground on a rare rainy day in El Paso, but the CMU defense won the game late.

With just 45 combined points between the two offense-heavy teams, under 57.5 points easily cleared.

Previous Years

Favorites and underdogs have alternated covers every year dating back to 2013 while unders are 5-3 in that same stretch. Pac-12 reps have won seven of the last nine outings and were favored in every one of those instances. Outright upsets like CMU’s in 2021 are rare; the last outright upset came in 2012 where Georgia Tech beat USC.


Below are historical results of the Sun Bowl.

The Sun Bowl is the second-oldest bowl game in the nation (with Sugar and Orange Bowls), dating back to 1935. The first Sun Bowl with recognizable teams from the modern FBS came in 1938, where West Virginia beat Texas Tech 7-6. Regular meetings between modern FBS teams began in 1963.

Date playedWinnerScoreLoserScore
December 30, 2022Pitt37No. 18 UCLA35
December 31, 2021Central Michigan24Washington State21
December 31, 2019Arizona State20Florida State14
December 31, 2018Stanford14Pittsburgh13
December 29, 2017NC State52Arizona State31
December 30, 2016No. 16 Stanford25North Carolina23
December 26, 2015Washington State20Miami (Florida)14
December 27, 2014No. 15 Arizona State36Duke31
December 31, 2013No. 17 UCLA42Virginia Tech12
December 31, 2012Georgia Tech21USC7
December 31, 2011Utah30Georgia Tech27 (OT)
December 31, 2010Notre Dame33Miami (Florida)17
December 31, 2009Oklahoma31No. 19 Stanford27
December 31, 2008No. 24 Oregon State3No. 18 Pittsburgh0
December 31, 2007Oregon56No. 23 South Florida21
December 29, 2006No. 24 Oregon State39Missouri38
December 30, 2005No. 17 UCLA50Northwestern38
December 31, 2004No. 21 Arizona State27Purdue23
December 31, 2003No. 24 Minnesota31Oregon30
December 31, 2002Purdue34Washington24
December 31, 2001No. 13 Washington State33Purdue27
December 29, 2000Wisconsin21UCLA20
December 31, 1999Oregon24No. 12 Minnesota20
December 31, 1998TCU28USC19
December 31, 1997No. 16 Arizona State17Iowa7
December 31, 1996Stanford38Michigan State0
December 29, 1995Iowa38No. 20 Washington18
December 30, 1994Texas35No. 19 North Carolina31
December 24, 1993No. 19 Oklahoma41Texas Tech10
December 31, 1992Baylor20No. 22 Arizona15
December 31, 1991No. 22 UCLA6Illinois3
December 31, 1990No. 22 Michigan State17No. 21 USC16
December 30, 1989No. 24 Pittsburgh31No. 16 Texas A&M28
December 24, 1988No. 20 Alabama29Army28
December 25, 1987No. 11 Oklahoma State35West Virginia33
December 25, 1986No. 13 Alabama28No. 12 Washington6
December 28, 1985Arizona13Georgia13
December 22, 1984No. 12 Maryland28Tennessee27
December 24, 1983Alabama28No. 6 SMU7
December 25, 1982North Carolina26No. 8 Texas10
December 26, 1981Oklahoma40Houston14
December 27, 1980No. 8 Nebraska31No. 17 Mississippi State17
December 22, 1979No. 13 Washington14No. 11 Texas7
December 23, 1978No. 14 Texas42No. 13 Maryland0
December 31, 1977Stanford24LSU14
January 2, 1977No. 10 Texas A&M37Florida14
December 26, 1975No. 20 Pittsburgh33No. 19 Kansas19
December 28, 1974Mississippi State26North Carolina24
December 29, 1973Missouri34Auburn17
December 30, 1972No. 16 North Carolina32Texas Tech28
December 18, 1971No. 10 LSU33No. 17 Iowa State15
December 19, 1970No. 13 Georgia Tech17No. 19 Texas Tech9
December 20, 1969No. 14 Nebraska45Georgia6
December 28, 1968Auburn34Arizona10
December 30, 1967UTEP14Ole Miss7
December 24, 1966Wyoming28Florida State20
December 31, 1965Texas Western13TCU12
December 26, 1964Georgia7Texas Tech0
December 31, 1963Oregon21SMU14
December 31, 1962West Texas State15Ohio14
December 30, 1961Villanova17Wichita9
December 31, 1960No. 17 New Mexico State20Utah State13
December 31, 1959New Mexico A&M28North Texas State8
December 31, 1958Wyoming14Hardin–Simmons6
January 1, 1958Louisville34Drake20
January 1, 1957No. 17 George Washington13Texas Western0
January 2, 1956Wyoming21Texas Tech14
January 1, 1955Texas Western47Florida State20
January 1, 1954Texas Western37Mississippi Southern14
January 1, 1953Pacific26Mississippi Southern7
January 1, 1952Texas Tech25Pacific14
January 1, 1951West Texas State14Cincinnati13
January 2, 1950Texas Western33Georgetown20
January 1, 1949West Virginia21Texas Mines12
January 1, 1948Miami (Ohio)13Texas Tech12
January 1, 1947Cincinnati18Virginia Tech6
January 1, 1946New Mexico34Denver24
January 1, 1945Southwestern35UNAM0
January 1, 1944Southwestern7New Mexico0
January 1, 1943Second Air Force13Hardin–Simmons7
January 1, 1942Tulsa6Texas Tech0
January 1, 1941Western Reserve26Arizona State13
January 1, 1940Arizona State0Catholic0
January 2, 1939Utah26New Mexico0
January 1, 1938West Virginia7Texas Tech6
January 1, 1937Hardin–Simmons34Texas Mines6
January 1, 1936Hardin–Simmons14New Mexico A&M14
January 1, 1935El Paso All-Stars25Ranger (Texas)21


When is the 2022 Sun Bowl?

The 2022 Sun Bowl will be played on Dec. 30, 2022 at 2:00 p.m. ET.

Where is the Sun Bowl?

Sun Bowl Stadium in El Paso, Texas, hosts the Sun Bowl. It’s been played there since 1935 and now is the primary home of the UTEP Miners.

Who is playing in the 2022 Sun Bowl?

UCLA plays Pitt in the 2022 Sun Bowl.