Horse Racing Betting Guide 2024

Schedule, Odds, And How To Bet

Written by

Horse racing has always been one of the most popular sports to bet on in the US. It’s as straight forward as it gets – which horse(s) do you like in the race? Check out our horse racing betting guide for how to wager.

Typical horse races feature 5-11 horses. Some big races, like the Kentucky Derby at Churchill Downs, will have a field up to 20 horses. There are also big meets that feature multiple big races, like the Breeders’ Cup.

Get a No Sweat Win Bet up to $500 at FanDuel Racing
Bet on Horse Racing
Up to $500 Back if Your First Bet Doesn’t Win
Get Boosted Odds & the Best Promotions
Easy Deposits, Fast Withdrawals
To Claim: Click Play Now

How to bet on horse racing

Online betting on horse racing has never been easier as FanDuel Racing is legal is dozens of states.

Types of horse racing bets can be broken down into four categories: Easy, Moderate, Hard and Difficult.

Easier bets to win

  • Win: Pick the winner of the race
  • Place: The horse you bet on must finish in first or second
  • Show: The horse you bet on must finish in first, second or third

Moderate bets to win

  • Exacta: Pick the first two finishers in order
  • Quinella: Pick the first two finishers in any order
  • Double: Pick the winner of two races in a row

Hard bets to win

  • Trifecta: Pick the first three finishers in order
  • Superfecta: Pick the first four finishers in order
  • Pick 3: Pick the winner of three races in a row

Most difficult bets to win

  • Pick 4: Pick the winner of four races in a row
  • Pick 5: Pick the winner of five races in a row
  • Pick 6: Pick the winner of six races in a row

The Triple Crown

There are multiple horse races to wager on most every day throughout the year.  Casual horse racing bettors are typically focused on the Big 3 horse races each year, however. The Sport of King’s Triple Crown includes the Kentucky Derby in Louisville, Kentucky, the Preakness Stakes in Baltimore, Maryland, and the Belmont Stakes in Elmont, New York.

Here is a look at when each big race will be running in 2024:

Kentucky Derby 2024 – 150th running

  • When: Saturday, May 4
  • Where: Churchill Downs, Louisville, Kentucky
  • 2023 winning horse: Mage
  • 2023 winning trainer: Gustavo Delgado
  • 2023 winning jockey: Javier Castellano

Preakness Stakes 2024 – 149th running

  • When: Saturday, May 18
  • Where: Pimlico Race Course, Baltimore, Maryland
  • 2023 winning horse: National Treasure
  • 2023 winning trainer: Bob Baffert
  • 2023 winning jockey: John R. Velazquez

Belmont Stakes 2024 – 156th running

  • When: Saturday, June 8
  • Where: Belmont Park, Elmont, New York
  • 2023 winning horse: Arcangelo
  • 2023 winning trainer: Jena Antonucci
  • 2023 winning jockey: J. Castellano