Heisman Trophy Betting Odds 2021

Betting favorites, history, and how to bet

heisman trophy odds

Each year you can pretty much pencil in a quarterback winning the Heisman Trophy, the most prestigious award in college football. Alabama WR DeVonta Smith broke that trend in 2020, however, becoming the first non-QB to win the award since Alabama RB Derrick Henry in 2015. Since 2010, QBs have won the Heisman nine times – with Smith and Henry being the only exceptions. Sportsbooks are adjusting 2021 Heisman odds as weeks progress, with Oklahoma QB Spencer Rattler, Alabama QB Bryce Young, and Ole Miss QB Matt Corral are the favorites at DraftKings Sportsbook.

Non-QBs in the mix for 2021 are Texas RB Bijan Robinson () and Oregon running back CJ Verdell ().

Heisman odds 2021

View odds for more candidates at DraftKings Sportsbook, FanDuel Sportsbook and BetMGM.

Heisman odds: Favorites

Lincoln Riley is looking to build on his resume of two Heisman winners and three Heisman finalists with sophomore Spencer Rattler. Rattler () leads odds tables thanks to a late season explosion and due in part to Riley’s success. In his first year as a starting quarterback, he scored 34 total touchdowns and secured a Big 12 title, Peach Bowl victory, and win over arch rival Texas. Oklahoma’s system maximizes a quarterback’s potential and emphasizes efficiency (Oklahoma has been in the top three in offensive efficiency every year under Riley).

Following Rattler is Alabama sophomore Bryce Young, who set the Alabama record with four passing touchdowns in his debut. Young () has an array of weapons readily available at Alabama that includes rising star John Metchie III. Thanks to his impressive Week 1 showing, Young is quickly ascending, leading Heisman tables at many sportsbooks.

Ole Miss quarterback Matt Corral had high expectations coming into 2021 and has quickly risen up odds boards. Through three games, Corral reached nearly 1,000 passing yards and 14 total touchdowns. The best price to get Corral at currently is .

Heisman odds: Longshots

Texas sophomore running back Bijan Robinson is the highest non-quarterback on most odds tables after averaging a staggering 8.2 yards per carry in his freshman year. Robinson has over 400 yards from scrimmage and six total touchdowns through three games. Currently, the best price on Robinson to win the Heisman is .

Desmond Ridder () is the leader among players in the Group of Five. He’s scored seven combined touchdowns through two games, but faces Indiana and Notre Dame upcoming. Should he dazzle in those games, expect Ridder’s name to stick around near the top of odds boards.

How to bet Heisman Trophy futures

By their very nature, odds on futures wagers are subject to varying degree of fluctuation. In the case of player-level futures like the Heisman Trophy, a number of different factors can influence the trajectory of his futures odds as the games unfold week to week. That includes not only performance, results and stats, but also injuries.

Take the example of the 2019 pre-season pacesetter at both FanDuel and DraftKings sportsbooks — Clemson quarterback Trevor Lawrence. The sophomore took a lot of money and his odds dropped all the way to +200 at FanDuel and +175 on DraftKings at one point in 2019. Clemson was projected to be at least a 13-point favorite in all regular-season games, and bettors believed Lawrence would lead the Tigers offense to even greater heights after capturing the National Championship in 2018 while averaging 44.3 points per game.

Lawrence fell out of the 2019 race early, though, and his odds to win plummeted. He ultimately finished seventh in the voting as Joe Burrow grabbed the coveted Trophy.

How is the Heisman Trophy winner decided?

A total of 870 media members (sports journalists mostly covering college football) from six regions along with 59 former Heisman winners vote on the award. Voters can select three players on their ballot. A first place vote allots 3 points to the player selected, second place gets 2 points and third place gets 1 point.

The Heisman and the AP Player of the Year honor the most outstanding player. The award is given for outstanding performance which best exhibits the pursuit of excellence with integrity. Winners epitomize great ability combined with diligence, perseverance, and hard work. Since 2002, the award has been presented by the Heisman Trophy trust, and was first presented in 1935 by the Downtown Athletic Club in New York City.

Over the last 20 years, just two Heisman winners have played on teams that won fewer than 10 games – Florida’s Tim Tebow in 2007 and Louisville’s Lamar Jackson in 2016. But those two teams each won 9 games. So narrow your list to the projected top teams and review the schedules and players likelihood to put up strong stats with outstanding performances.

Where can you bet on college football futures?

The Heisman Trophy futures markets are available at all legal, regulated sportsbooks. Heisman futures are located behind the college football tab in online sportsbook platforms, under a specific Futures tab. Players are listed along with their corresponding odds at that point in time.

UP TO $1,050 FREE
New User Bonus. T&Cs Apply.
National Football Special
Bet $1, Get $200 Instantly
$50 Free Bet on Deposit
Up to $1,000 Deposit Bonus
To Claim: Click Play Now
Risk Free Bet
Up to $5,000 Risk Free Bet
Free NFL jersey when you bet $100 on NFL in September!
Risk Free Bet
Exclusive Offer
$600 Risk Free Bet
Use Promo Code: BETBONUS
$250 Bonus
100% Match On First Deposit
100% Up to $250 Deposit Bonus
ONLY 1x Play Through!
Use Exclusive Bonus Code: PLAY250 
Risk Free Bet
$1,000 Risk Free Sports Bet
Weekly Boosted Parlays
To Claim: Click Play Now
Risk Free Bet
Chiefs or Ravens Special (Excl. AZ)
Bet $5, Win $150 In Cash or
Up to $1,000 Risk Free Bet
Available on Desktop, Android & iOS 
To Claim: Click Play Now