2022 Kentucky Derby Standings: Prep Season Hits Home Stretch

Written By Dave Bontempo on April 5, 2022
kentucky derby standings

The homestretch dawns for Kentucky Derby hopefuls, and chances to earn points in the 2022 Kentucky Derby standings are running out. One super Saturday remains on the Road to the Kentucky Derby points-qualifying prep-race circuit, with three major events set to finalize the rankings of invitees to the May 7 Run for the Roses.

Get Up to $200 Back If Your First Bet Loses

Final Kentucky Derby Prep Races

The racing world will focus keen eyes on these 1 1/8-mile showcases on April 9:

  • The Blue Grass Stakes from Keeneland in Lexington, Ky.
  • The Santa Anita Derby from Santa Anita Park in Arcadia, Calif.
  • The Wood Memorial from Aqueduct in Queens, N.Y.

The remaining races have qualifying points of 100-40-20-10 points for the top four finishers.

This is the last opportunity for horses to position themselves into the 20 slots that determine the Kentucky Derby field. It will be interesting to watch decisions about entering this weekend’s races for trainers with horses in and around the Kentucky Derby points cutoff. Some horses “on the bubble” will need to have a big outing.

Upcoming winners will join those who punched their Churchill Downs tickets by garnering 100-point triumphs in the first Super Saturday, which featured three major preps.

White Abarrio, Cyberknife and Tiz the Bomb, who each gained 100 points, notched Kentucky Derby entries with respective victories in the Florida Derby, Arkansas Derby and Jeff Ruby Steaks races.

Barber Road, second in the Arkansas Derby, is assured a Kentucky Derby slot. Charge It and Tawny Port, who gained 40 points by finishing second in the Florida Derby and Jeff Ruby, likely have enough points but that won’t be decided until the upcoming weekend.

2022 Kentucky Derby Standings

164Steven M. Asmussen
2Zandon114Chad Brown
3White Abarrio
112Saffie Joseph, Jr.
4Mo Donegal112Todd Pletcher
5Tiz the Bomb110Kenny McPeek
6Cyberknife100Brad Cox
7Crown Pride (JPN)100Koichi Shintani
8Taiba100Tim Yakteen
74Antonio Sano
10Smile Happy
70Kenny McPeek
11Classic Causway66Brian Lynch
12Tawny Port60Brad Cox
13Barber Road
58John Ortiz
14Un Ojo
54Anthony W. Dutrow
15Messier40Tim Yakteen
16Zozos40Brad Cox
17Summer Is Tomorrow40Bhupat Seemar
18Charge It40Todd Pletcher
19Happy Jack30Doug O'Neill
20Pioneer of Medina25Todd Pletcher
21In Due Time24Kelly Breen
22Ethereal Road22D. Wayne Lukas
23Rich Strike21Eric Reed
24Rattle N Roll20Kenny McPeek

*f = filly (three-year-old female horse)

Triple Crown Schedule

Race Recaps From Past Weekend

Florida Derby

White Abarrio stalked the early lead set by Classic Causeway, stormed in front at the turn and repelled a determined run by Charge It, who was running in only this third race.

Charge It slid by 2-1 favorite Simplification in the final strides and that may have notched his Derby ticket. Simplification, the previous winner of the Fountain of Youth Stakes, was already in a safe Derby-qualifying position. He finished third.

White Abarrio received a 96 Beyer Speed Figure in the Florida Derby.

Arkansas Derby

Cyberknife won in opportunistic style, holding off 6-5 favorite Secret Oath, the filly who sought to become the first filly to win a Derby prep since the points system was established in 2013.

Cyberknife, stalking in fourth, made an early move and got the jump on Secret Oath, who charged from last into second and looked ready to go by Cyberknife in the stretch. But she flattened out and wasn’t even urged, allowing Barber Road to steal the place.
Barber Road, a deep closer, nipped Secret Oath for second, hiking his total to a safe 58.
Jeff Ruby Steaks

Tiz the Bomb moved from sixth in the backstretch to a lead around the final turn and held off a determined Tawny Port, one of the early speed horses, in the Jeff Ruby.

Cyberknife received a 92 Beyer Speed Figure in the Arkansas Derby.



Del Mar


Pacific Classic


Breeders Cup

Follow TheLines on Twitter

Dave Bontempo Avatar
Written by
Dave Bontempo

Dave Bontempo, who writes extensively on the emergence of legalized sports betting, is a recipient of the Sam Taub Award for Broadcast Excellence by the Boxing Writers Association of America. He has broadcast boxing for all the major networks over the last four decades and is a member of the New Jersey Boxing Hall of Fame as well as the Atlantic City Boxing Hall of Fame. His work also can be seen at the Press of Atlantic City and iGamingPlayer.

View all posts by Dave Bontempo